Wed, 03 Jun 2020

Akila Dananjaya found to have illegal bowling action

11 Dec 2018, 01:42 GMT+10

10:00 AM ET

An independent assessment has found the bowling action of Akila Dananjaya, the Sri Lanka offspinner, to be illegal. Dananjaya stands suspended from bowling in international cricket but, with the consent of SLC, he can still bowl in Sri Lanka's domestic competitions.

Dananjaya was reported for a suspect action following Sri Lanka's first Test against England in Galle last month. He underwent an assessment on November 23 at the National Cricket Centre in Brisbane, where the straightening of his elbow was found to exceed the 15-degree tolerance limit.

Dananjaya can apply for a re-assessment after undergoing remedial work on his action. If his remedied action passes the 15-degree rule, he will be allowed to resume bowling in international cricket.

More Mexico City News

Access More

Sign up for Mexico City News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!